Straight But Not Narrow

Welcome to a blog I created for the purpose of focusing on the truth of the proposed marriage amendment to the North Carolina Constitution.

The title of this post, which matches the title of the user name selected for this blog, is to inform the reader that even though I am not gay, I do have an open mind to the rights of others.  I saw it on a bumper sticker and it just seemed to make sense.

I am an attorney who has practiced law in North Carolina for more than 28 years.  My focus has been civil trial work, representing mostly big business and big employers in commercial, banking and employment disputes.  I have years of experience researching and arguing legal issues and searching for the truth along the way.  I am not a family law attorney, nor a constitutional scholar.  But Amendment One has fed my curiosity.  

Politically, I am fiscally conservative, but a moderate on social issues.  Religiously, I grew up in the Episcopal church but then I married into a Baptist family and joined a Baptist church.  My attendance is not stellar and I sit in the balcony. I have two adult children, two rescue dogs and a marriage of 28 years. 

I recently attended a workshop in Charlotte to learn more about Amendment One.  It was held on Saturday, February 25, 2012 at Myers Park Baptist Church in Charlotte.  The title of the presentation was “NC Baptists Against Amendment One”.  It was helpful to my goal of learning about Amendment One.

At the February 25th workshop, Reverend Stephen Shoemaker, pastor of Myers Park Baptist Church, quoted Martin Luther King, Jr. as saying that the opposite of love is not hate but indifference.  That statement had an impact on me. This blog is my effort not to be indifferent to the upcoming vote on Amendment One. 

As an attorney, I know from experience that there are two sides to every story.  And I also know that the truth of a matter is often found somewhere in the middle.  

So, to start this journey, which I hope you will undertake as well, I am posting the links to two websites, one in favor of Amendment One and one against Amendment One.  Read them and learn more.

For Amendment One: www.voteformarriagenc.com

Against Amendment One: www.protectncfamilies.org

Finally, in the interest of full disclosure, I must say that I lean toward voting against Amendment One.  However, having said that, I intend to explore the facts more fully in subsequent posts.  Interestingly, my preliminary research has taught me that someone who is against gay marriage on religious or other grounds can still find a good reason to be against Amendment One.  I am not sure that is self-evident from the debate being framed by the parties or by the media.

So, please join me in finding what you believe to be the truth in this debate.    

 

 

This entry was posted in A Little Background. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

